Do you need the Police? Visit the Norfolk Police website

PCC Election 2016

Norfolk will elect its Police and Crime Commissioner on Thursday 5 May 2016.


Standing as a candidate?

We've set up a candidate briefing page providing information on the PCC role and key responsibilities.


Got a question?

We will publish all PCC election questions and answers.

The election of the Police & Crime Commissioner for Norfolk will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Voters in 41 police force areas in England and Wales, excluding London, will elect a Police and Crime Commissioner.

Norfolk’s PCC election will be carried out by each of the seven local authorities. The counts will take place on Friday, 6 May 2016. The count results from all seven authorities will then be pooled and the new PCC for Norfolk will be declared at the King’s Lynn & West Norfolk Borough Council count venue later that day. The declaration will be made by Norfolk’s Police Area Returning Officer (PARO), Ray Harding, the Chief Executive of the Borough Council of King’s Lynn & West Norfolk.


Candidates running in the May 2016 PCC election

Stephen Bett (Independent, incumbent)Chris Jones (Labour)
Lorne Green (Conservative)David Moreland (UKIP)
Jacqueline Howe (Liberal Democrat)Martin Schmierer (Green Party)
(Information provided by King's Lynn & West Norfolk Borough Council)

Candidate details and manifestos will be published at www.choosemypcc.org.uk as they become available.

To vote in a Police and Crime Commissioner election, you must be over 18 and registered to vote. Information on registering to vote can be found on the gov.uk website.

The supplementary voting system will be used for the PCC elections.

You can find out more about elections and voting at www.aboutmyvote.co.uk.

You can download a transcript of the speech Home Secretary Theresa May gave at ‘The future of PCCs’ event in London, which spells out PCCs’ achievements and discusses how the role could develop in the future.


What am I voting for? Watch our 60-second video on what a Police and Crime Commissioner is.